Customize Search

Monday, July 6, 2009

Trece Martirez City - Overview


Trece Martires City used to be the largest, remotest and one of the oldest barrios in Cavite. The City was formerly a barrio of Tanza and was most probably known then as "Quinta" or "Quintana". It was re-named after the thirteen CaviteƱos who were executed by the Spaniards on September 12, 1896 shortly after the outbreak of the Philippine Revolution. Development is basically agricultural with the land subdivided into cattle ranches and sugar farms. Honorable Justiniano S. Montano and Honorable Jose T. Cajulis jointly prepared House Bill No. 1795. The said House Bill became Republic Act No. 981. President Ramon Magsaysay, in May 24, 1954, approved Republic Act No. 981 known as the "Charter of Trece Martires City" which also provides for the transfer of the capital of Cavite Province from Cavite City to Trece Martires City. It changed the tempo of development and urbanization in the area. The charter of Trece Martires City originally provided that the Provincial Governor should be the ex-officio city mayor. Honorable Dominador Mangubat, the incumbent governor then, thus became the first chief executive of the new city. The provincial capitol was formally inaugurated on January 2, 1956, the day Governor Delfin N. Montano was sworn into office. President Ferdinand E. Marcos signed, on June 11, 1977, Presidential Decree No. 1163 relocating the capital and seat of government from Trece Martires City to Imus. Governor Juanito R. Remulla requested Marcos, in September 1979, to transfer the Provincial Capitol back to the City of Trece Martires. President Corazon C. Aquino approved on March 31, 1992 Republic Act 7325, amending the charter of the City of Trece Martires. The amendment provided for the first local elections in the city.
Source: The Phil Index, Millennium Edition Vol.I No.1

No comments:

Post a Comment